Google+: “Oops, you need a google profile to use this feature” and a workaround

Update: This is no longer relevant. Google+ allows to log in with a Google Apps account.

I use my custom domain name Google Apps account as my primary email. I still have Google account and Google profile but I am not logged into this account by default.

So when I go to http://google.com/+ I get this dreaded error message:

Oops, you need a google profile to use this feature

Oops, you need a google profile to use this feature

I found a workaround to this problem. The solution requires that a) you have a “regular” Google Account (…@gmail.com) and b) this account should be enabled the “Sign in to multiple Google Accounts” feature (thanks Paul for the tip) :

1. Go to any profile page on Google plus:

Go to your Google Profile

2. Click on the Account -> Switch Accounts menu:

Switch accounts menu

3. Select the Google Account (not the Google Apps account) or log into your Google Account:

Switch to Google Account

Bingo! Your Google plus is now working!

